Lebanon Reporter

March 4, 2014

County well-represented on All-Sagamore girls basketball team

By Will Willems Sports Editor
Lebanon Reporter

---- — The two Boone County schools were well-represented on the 2013-14 Girls Basketball All-Sagamore Conference team.

Of the 30 girls honored, nine came from Boone County schools.

Lebanon and Western Boone tied for the Sagamore Conference championship with 6-1 conference records. The Stars finished the season 18-6, falling in the regional final. The Tigers finished 18-6, falling to Western Boone in the sectional championship game.

Each team had two players named first-team all-conference.

Kristen Spolyar and Carly Greene were first-team for Lebanon. Spolyar led the conference in scoring, averaging 22.5 points a game. She also averaged 7.0 rebounds and 4.5 steals.

Greene averaged 13.1 points, putting her seventh in the conference in scoring. She led the Tigers with 7.2 rebounds per game.

For Western Boone, Emily Harrison and BayLee Mitchell were named first-team all-conference. Harrison was second in the conference in scoring, averaging 17.7 points a game, and second in rebounding, averaging 10.0 a game.

She finished fifth on Western Boone’s all-time scoring list and as the school’s all-time leader in rebounds.

Mitchell averaged 9.8 points and 4.3 rebounds a game this season, while helping the Stars win their first sectional championship since 2010.

On the second-team, Western Boone was represented by Kaitlin Miller. She averaged a career-best 6.4 points a game this past season.

Each school had two members on the honorable mention all-conference team.

For Lebanon, Brooke Montgomery and Peyton Terrill earned the honor. Montgomery averaged 6.5 points, 2.8 rebounds and 2.1 assists in her freshman campaign. Terrill averaged 7.2 points and 3.7 rebounds.

For Western Boone, Nicole Chance and Rachel Ramey earned the honor. Chance averaged 4.5 points and 3.9 rebounds a game, while Ramey averaged 7.7 points and 5.0 rebounds.

Rounding out the first team were: Kassidy Bonebrake (Crawfordsville), Maleha Motter (Danville), Cali Wetli (Southmont) and Karen Jones (Tri-West).

The boys team will be released in a couple of weeks.