Lebanon Reporter

Commentary

August 22, 2007

Holiday World is the happiest place in Indiana

Even though we’ve officially got nearly another month on the calendar until fall, the start of school and Friday night lights signify the end of summer. Around the hallways and lunch rooms I’m sure there have been lots of conversations starting with the inquiry, "What did you do this summer?" When my first-grader responds to this question, tops on his list is a visit to Holiday World and Splashin’ Safari in Santa Claus, Indiana.

This was our second visit and on the way home, my wife and I agreed that this will be one of our every-summer traditions and when we’re older and greyer these trips will likely be among our most cherished memories of when our kids were small.

Much has been written about Holiday World, the nation’s very first theme park, opened in 1946 as Santa Claus Land. The Koch family are practically rock stars in the theme park industry, garnering award after award. Coaster enthusiasts from around the world flock to the park to ride top-ranked rides. Less, however, has been written about the food and in my opinion, there is plenty to get excited about here as well.

There are 17 different eateries spread out over the two parks. The first thing I noticed about food at Holiday World is the price. We’ve all been to these places that take advantage of captive families by gouging them with overpriced food. This is not the case at Holiday World. A simple burger, fries, and drink combo meal is less than what you would pay at most fast food chains.

Inexpensive food is one thing, but good quality food at a reasonable price is what you’ll find at Holiday World. Over the last two years of visits, with four in my family, I’ve probably purchased at least 25 meals. There has never been a disappointment and the extras are what really add to the experience. One simple extra is the little baggie of vegetable toppings that are packed separately from the burger. When you order the sandwich you get the wrapped-up meat and bun and then lettuce, tomato, onion, and pickle in a small plastic bag. The bun stays dry and the vegetables crisp.

Text Only
Commentary
  • Community calendar for March 26, 2013

    March 25, 2013

  • Leb columnist-Rose color.jpg Dear GOP: It's time to stop

    Indiana Congressman Mike Pence bragged Friday that Republicans in Congress will slam their heads against the Capitol Building’s pillars until they bleed.

    In a manner of hyperbole, of course.

    January 8, 2011 1 Photo

  • Rod's mug Pence jumps into the harbor

    Indiana Congressman Mike Pence, who some believe is interested in a run at the presidency in 2012, has drunk the tea.

    July 24, 2010 1 Photo

  • scott hutcheson (new) Ramping up for spring

    In many parts of the U.S., ramps, also known as wild leeks, are the very first edible vegetation to spring forth from the ground. A member of the garlic/onion family, they look like a scallion but have broader flat leaves. Like their cousins they add a pungent, but delicious layer to such dishes as soups and casseroles.

    April 8, 2010 1 Photo 1 Story

  • mohringer Spring: A wonder to behold

    The woods have suddenly come to life. Thousands of daffodils, some hyacinths and many wild flowers. Today the magnolia trees started to bloom. The forsythias have never bloomed so well.

    April 7, 2010 1 Photo

  • wolfise High tech wreck

    April 6, 2010 1 Photo

  • truitt Spending Easter in Panama

    After mom died, I went to her house to gather some photos for the funeral. She had six dozen eggs in the refrigerator, ready to color with the grandkids. Yes, the past 12 Easters have been somewhat bittersweet.

    April 5, 2010 1 Photo

  • Rod's mug A breezy suggestion for WeBo’s revenue problems

    Back in March 2009, the Western Boone school board decided it would not participate in industrial wind farms.

    They may want to rethink that decision.

    April 3, 2010 1 Photo

  • Remember the meaning of the day

    I know this because I am celebrating Easter, and I know that God is not a God that is out there in outer space. No, He is a personal God; He cares what happens to us today, tomorrow and all our tomorrows. So, all our instances are God-filled.

    April 2, 2010

  • scott hutcheson (new) City pig, country pig this Easter

    For many families, the culinary centerpiece of the upcoming Easter holiday will be a ham; and, the typical grocery-store variety found on many tables won’t be much more interesting than Letterman’s canned hams. With a little extra effort, however, you could offer your loved ones a delicious and distinctive ham.

    April 1, 2010 1 Photo

Featured items
Click below to browse and order photos


Photos from April 2014

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide