Lebanon Reporter

Commentary

April 2, 2010

Remember the meaning of the day

(Continued)

I know this because I am celebrating Easter, and I know that God is not a God that is out there in outer space. No, He is a personal God; He cares what happens to us today, tomorrow and all our tomorrows. So, all our instances are God-filled.

I am going to live like Barb is now, with joy and with every day. I will live as if I am celebrating that Easter is real and Jesus Christ is risen. Because I believe to be true and I pray that you do, too. Holy God, Thank You for loving us so much that You died on a cross for us. Lord help us to have Your faith and to go into the world and share Your love.

Give us joy, mercy, peace and grace each day. Strengthen us that we may have hope and trust in Your goodness and mercy We are assured than when we leave this world we are united with You and all the saints that go before us in Your heavenly kingdom through Jesus our Lord and Savior. Amen.

Amy Mildenberg is pastor at Bethel Presbyterian Church in Zionsville and secretary of the Boone County Ministerial Association.

Text Only
Commentary
  • Community calendar for March 26, 2013

    March 25, 2013

  • Leb columnist-Rose color.jpg Dear GOP: It's time to stop

    Indiana Congressman Mike Pence bragged Friday that Republicans in Congress will slam their heads against the Capitol Building’s pillars until they bleed.

    In a manner of hyperbole, of course.

    January 8, 2011 1 Photo

  • Rod's mug Pence jumps into the harbor

    Indiana Congressman Mike Pence, who some believe is interested in a run at the presidency in 2012, has drunk the tea.

    July 24, 2010 1 Photo

  • scott hutcheson (new) Ramping up for spring

    In many parts of the U.S., ramps, also known as wild leeks, are the very first edible vegetation to spring forth from the ground. A member of the garlic/onion family, they look like a scallion but have broader flat leaves. Like their cousins they add a pungent, but delicious layer to such dishes as soups and casseroles.

    April 8, 2010 1 Photo 1 Story

  • mohringer Spring: A wonder to behold

    The woods have suddenly come to life. Thousands of daffodils, some hyacinths and many wild flowers. Today the magnolia trees started to bloom. The forsythias have never bloomed so well.

    April 7, 2010 1 Photo

  • wolfise High tech wreck

    April 6, 2010 1 Photo

  • truitt Spending Easter in Panama

    After mom died, I went to her house to gather some photos for the funeral. She had six dozen eggs in the refrigerator, ready to color with the grandkids. Yes, the past 12 Easters have been somewhat bittersweet.

    April 5, 2010 1 Photo

  • Rod's mug A breezy suggestion for WeBo’s revenue problems

    Back in March 2009, the Western Boone school board decided it would not participate in industrial wind farms.

    They may want to rethink that decision.

    April 3, 2010 1 Photo

  • Remember the meaning of the day

    I know this because I am celebrating Easter, and I know that God is not a God that is out there in outer space. No, He is a personal God; He cares what happens to us today, tomorrow and all our tomorrows. So, all our instances are God-filled.

    April 2, 2010

  • scott hutcheson (new) City pig, country pig this Easter

    For many families, the culinary centerpiece of the upcoming Easter holiday will be a ham; and, the typical grocery-store variety found on many tables won’t be much more interesting than Letterman’s canned hams. With a little extra effort, however, you could offer your loved ones a delicious and distinctive ham.

    April 1, 2010 1 Photo

Featured items
Click below to browse and order photos


Photos from June 2014

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide